Doctor Who News dw-s6-hitler-amy-11th-rory-hp1

Published on January 25th, 2012 | by Christian Cawley

Award Winning Who Stars! [UPDATED]

Hurrah! Congratulations to Doctor Who stars Matt Smith and Karen Gillan who have both picked up National Television Awards for their starring roles in the show this evening.

Nominated in the Best Actress and Best Actor categories, the TARDIS twosome faced off some tough challenges from John Barrowman, Eve Myles, Martin Clunes and Surrane Jones to romp home to victory in a ceremony where the votes come from you the viewers. Meanwhile, Doctor Who itself missed out to ITV’s own drama juggernaut Downton Abbey for the Best Drama award.

Following their awards, the pair spoke to waiting reporters. Karen Gillan revealed that she had no regrets about leaving the TARDIS, while Matt Smith enthused that he had no plans to leave and wasn’t aware who his new companion would be.

These awards are a massive vindication for the series which had come in for some criticism during its 2011 run and was strangely bereft of awards at last year’s event. Clearly the game has been raised at BBC Wales!

Matt joins his predecessors David Tennant and Christopher Eccleston in winning the award, which is pretty cool and helps to back-up my own view that he is the best Doctor of the modern age, if not ever.

A big well done to Karen and Matt from all of us here at Kasterborous.


Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author


A long-term Doctor Who fan, Christian grew up watching the show and has early memories of the Graham Williams era. His favourite stories are Inferno, The Seeds of Doom and Human Nature (although The Empty Child, Blink and Utopia all come close). When he’s not bossing around the news team, Christian is a freelance writer specialising in mobile technology and domestic computing, and enjoys classic rock, cooking and spending time in the countryside with his wife and young children. You can find him on Twitter, Facebook and Google+.

4 Responses to Award Winning Who Stars! [UPDATED]

  1. avatar Rick Lundeen says:

    Although I don’t know about “best Doctor ever” :), I can easily say that for me, since the show came back in ’05, each new Doctor has gotten more and more “Doctor-ish”. Smith seems to be channeling Troughton and Baker effortlessly yet carving his own very unique take on the character at the same time. This is the very first time in 11 incarnations where you believe he’s really centuries old. no one’s ever nailed the old/young bit as successfully, imo.

    • avatar Simon Spencer says:

      To each his own, huh…

      Yeah, my fave is the 4th Doctor, and my best companion is Romana II. There’s always an argument between Tom Baker, Colin Baker and Troughton as the best Doctor

    • avatar Krumstets says:

      Matt has certainly come along well and lays to rest any doubt about the fact he was only in his twenties when he landed the role.

  2. avatar Simon Spencer says:

    Well said Christian,

    Congrats to Smith and Gillan for their awards.

Please be aware that all comments are subject to adherence to our comments policy.
Back to Top ↑