Doctor Who Writers Nominated

The writers responsible for some key episodes of Doctor Who over the past few months have been nominated in the Writers’ Guild Award as a group rather than individuals.

Steven Moffat, Richard Curtis, Gareth Roberts, Stephen Thompson, Neil Gaiman and Matthew Graham are all listed for Doctor Who, which is nominated in the Best Television Drama Series category. The competition is tough, too, with The Shadow Line (by Hugo Blick and starring Ninth Doctor Christopher Eccleston) and Accused ( Jimmy McGovern, Danny Brocklehurst, Alice Nutter and Esther Wilson) vying for the prize.

It seems the nomination is for the series as a whole rather than The Doctor’s Wife, Vincent and the Doctor, The Rebel Flesh or The Impossible Astronaut/Day of the Moon, but it’s great to see the show listed with those big names alongside!

Of course, if the worst happens, Steven Moffat and Stephen Thompson have a second chance to win thanks to Sherlock, nominated in the Best Television Short-Form Drama.

These types of awards are the ones that deliver a bit of professional validation to the writers from their peers, so best of luck for everyone involved with Doctor Who!

(Via Twitter)

Christian Cawley

A long-term Doctor Who fan, Christian grew up watching the show and has early memories of the Graham Williams era. His favourite stories are Inferno, The Seeds of Doom and Human Nature (although The Empty Child, Blink and Utopia all come close). When he’s not bossing around the news team, Christian is a freelance writer specialising in mobile technology and domestic computing, and enjoys classic rock, cooking and spending time in the countryside with his wife and young children. You can find him on Twitter, Facebook and Google+.

© 2005-2014 Kasterborous. Theme Old Paper by