Doctor Who News no image

Published on May 12th, 2010 | by Christian Cawley

Short Trips Winners

Doctor Who - Short Trips from Big FinishBig Finish have revealed the names of the lucky winners of their recent competition to find new writers for the Doctor Who Short Trips CD releases later in the year.

Works by 22 new writers will appear alongside tales by Jason Arnopp, (former Doctor Who script editor) Andrew Cartmel, Richard Dinnick, Simon Guerrier, George Mann, James Moran (The Fires of Pompeii, Torchwood: Children of Earth), Kate Orman and Sixth Doctor Colin Baker. The stories will be read by a selection of Big Finish stalwarts, but to be honest the real story is the wide selection of backgrounds the winners come from.

The USA, Sweden, railway stations, mums – the list is pretty diverse and we’d like to wish a big “congratulations” to each of the lucky 22.

Over 500 entries were received, so each of the winners have done very well indeed.


Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author


A long-term Doctor Who fan, Christian grew up watching the show and has early memories of the Graham Williams era. His favourite stories are Inferno, The Seeds of Doom and Human Nature (although The Empty Child, Blink and Utopia all come close). When he’s not bossing around the news team, Christian is a freelance writer specialising in mobile technology and domestic computing, and enjoys classic rock, cooking and spending time in the countryside with his wife and young children. You can find him on Twitter, Facebook and Google+.

4 Responses to Short Trips Winners

  1. avatar grantwebb says:

    I’m very excited about the audio adventure script! *checks inbox for the 1098th time* :D

    Brilliant for those winners! Good for them!

  2. avatar Christian Cawley says:

    hah, you and me both grantwebb!

  3. avatar grantwebb says:

    Yeah, but there is some brilliant talent out there ready to be discovered! Like me! :D

  4. avatar Christian Cawley says:

    well good luck squire!

Please be aware that all comments are subject to adherence to our comments policy.
Back to Top ↑