News no image

Published on March 20th, 2010 | by Chris Davids

Ou Est Torchwood?

John Barrowman is Captain Jack Harkness - but for how much longer?If not Wales, then where? That’s the question on the lips of fans of Torchwood following the press launch of the new series of Doctor Who, after BBC Wales director Menna Richards omitted to mention the alien hunting spinoff in a list of shows produced in the principality.

According to Den of Geek, Richards made a small speech before the screening of The Eleventh Hour in order to talk about the new centre of drama production to be built in Cardiff, and reeled off a list of programming that it would be home to:  Doctor Who, Pobol y Cwm and The Sarah Jane Adventures.

No mention, then, of Torchwood.

While recent rumours have suggested a new series of Torchwood might be a co-production with a US channel, there has been little solid news on Torchwood series 4. Fans of Captain Jack Harkness and Gwen Cooper have been left with little more than the excellent Torchwood Magazine and a series of novels to retain their interest. While scouring the TV listings for appearances by John Barrowman (who may one day warrant his own listings mag) and Eve Myles and other Torchwood cast members might just keep fans interested, the increasing lack of news from anyone involved with the series is deafening.

Now based in the USA, Torchwood creator Russell T Davies must be aware of this. Let’s hope we get some solid news soon.

email

Tags: , , ,


About the Author

avatar




Comments are closed.

Please be aware that all comments are subject to adherence to our comments policy.
Back to Top ↑