TARDIS Trophy Room

Since 2005, Doctor Who has amassed a massive collection of awards an honours that while in complete contrast with the earlier phase of the series, has helped to prove to many fans that “we were right” about it being the best show on TV – even when it wasn’t in production.

Curiously the only notable award from 1963-1989 was for ‘Best Children’s Drama’ from the Writers’ Guild Of Great Britain… in 1975. This is of course a far cry from BAFTA, National Television Awards, TV Quick and HUGO – although in fairness there weren’t as many awards around 35 years ago.

While David Tennant’s time as the Tenth Doctor will always be remembered for his on air live departure announcement at the 2008 National Television Awards, there are plenty of other things to remember!

Digital Spy have compiled a list of Doctor Who’s notable awards since 2005, which includes a few you might have forgotten:


National Television Awards
Most Popular Actor – Christopher Eccleston


Best Drama Series
Pioneer Award (voted for by the British public)


Writers’ Guild of Great Britain
Award for Best TV Series/Soap – (for the third season)


Royal Television Society Awards
Best Sound – Drama (Midnight)


Visual Effects Society Awards
Outstanding Matte Paintings in a Broadcast Programme (Silence in the Library)

Visit Digital Spy for the full llist!

Christian Cawley

A long-term Doctor Who fan, Christian grew up watching the show and has early memories of the Graham Williams era. His favourite stories are Inferno, The Seeds of Doom and Human Nature (although The Empty Child, Blink and Utopia all come close). When he’s not bossing around the news team, Christian is a freelance writer specialising in mobile technology and domestic computing, and enjoys classic rock, cooking and spending time in the countryside with his wife and young children. You can find him on Twitter, Facebook and Google+.

© 2005-2014 Kasterborous. Theme Old Paper by ThunderThemes.net