Hi there! We notice you are using an Adblock tool.

Kasterborous produces five or more pieces of original content daily (over 100 every month). Our writers are volunteers, offering their services to give you interesting Doctor Who articles and features.

Money raised through advertising on this site is reinvested into hosting costs, competition prizes, review materials and occasional gifts for our contributors.

To help us maintain our wide breadth and high standard of content, whitelist our non-profit site to continue enjoying it without these pop-ups.

Peter Haining Dies

We’ve learned via Outpost Gallifrey that author Peter Haining – responsible for several non-fiction Doctor Who books in the 1980s – has died.

Most notable in his works was the 20th Anniversary volume Doctor Who : A Celebration; Two Decades Through Time and Space (1983), however his later books were popular with fans, such as:

  • The Key to Time : A Year by Year Record (1984)
  • The Doctor Who File (1986)
  • The Time-Travellers Guide (1987)
  • The Nine Lives of Doctor Who (1999)

Haining’s work wasn’t limited to Doctor Who or sci-fi, being responsible for books on James Bond, Charlie Chaplin, Elvis Presley and Bridget Bardot to name but a few.

Peter Haining also edited numerous fantasy and horror anthologies from 1966 onwards, and won a special British Fantasy Award, the Karl Edward Wagner Award, in 2001.

He was 67, and a heart attack is believed to have been the cause of death.


Please note that responses to this post are subject to our comments policy.

© 2005-2015 Kasterborous. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | SheKnows Media - Entertainment