Classic and New Series DVD News

Lots of news of the upcoming DVDs has been released. We’ll start with the cover of the Series 2 Volume 3 release, as annoucned by the BBC’s Official Doctor Who site.

New Series DVD Volume ThreeThe DVD features the two part Cybermen return Rise of the Cybermen/The Age of Steel as well as the upcoming Mark Gatiss tale The Idiot’s Lantern, and is available for pre-order from for just £11.99 delivered. The disc is due for release on 10th July 2006, and as a vanilla release will contain no extras – these will instead appear on the Complete Series 2 Box Set of 6 discs which is currently pencilled in for November 20th – and available on for £48.99 delivered – a saving of 30% (£21) on the rrp!

The BBC’s Official site has also released details of The Hand of Fear DVD contents for the upcoming release, which we reported last week as well as the announcement of the contents of the upcoming Mark of the Rani DVD starring Colin Baker, Nicola Bryant, Anthony Ainley and Kate O’Mara. It’s release on September 4th, and listed on the supervalue site at £14.99 delivered. The BBC’s Official site list the contents as:

The Mark of the Rani DVD contains two 45-minute episodes, plus a bumper collection of extras:

* Commentary by Colin Baker, Nicola Bryant and Kate O’Mara

* Lords and Luddites: A 40-minute documentary, featuring comments from Colin Baker, Nicola Bryant, Kate O’Mara, writers Pip and Jane Baker, actor Gary Cady, script editor Eric Saward and composer Jonathan Gibbs

* Playing with Time: A 9-minute interview with composer Jonathan Gibbs

* Now and Then: A look at the Blists Hill Victorian Museum used as the main filming location for this adventure

* Blue Peter: An 11-minute feature on the history of Ironbridge Gorge

* Saturday Superstore: Colin Baker and Nicola Bryant appear on the BBC children’s show, and receive a phone call from an old friend…

* Deleted and extended scenes

* Photo gallery, PDFs of the 1985 Doctor Who Annual and Radio Times listings for this story

* Isolated music score for the whole story by Jonathan Gibbs, and an alternate music score for episode one by composer John Lewis

It will be an interesting release to say the least, and perhaps will finally give an insight into what exactly goes into the radically rarefied realisation of a Pip and Jane Baker script…

Christian Cawley

A long-term Doctor Who fan, Christian grew up watching the show and has early memories of the Graham Williams era. His favourite stories are Inferno, The Seeds of Doom and Human Nature (although The Empty Child, Blink and Utopia all come close). When he’s not bossing around the news team, Christian is a freelance writer specialising in mobile technology and domestic computing, and enjoys classic rock, cooking and spending time in the countryside with his wife and young children. You can find him on Twitter, Facebook and Google+.

© 2005-2014 Kasterborous. Theme Old Paper by